Hi there! I'm a guitarist wanting to learn bass along the side :) With a story to tell as well...

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by BollocksToNeckDive, Dec 29, 2015.

1. WARNING: Really long read. Please proceed with free time and interest.

Greetings all! I'm a 17 year old who's been playing guitar seriously for about 8 months now. I figured after a while that I was also interested in playing bass along the side, which led me to save up a ton of cash over the past few months and allow myself to get a nice affordable yet good quality bass and bass amp! But I recently returned the former and am looking towards getting it replaced for a better one. I'll talk more about this later.

Anyway, story time! Just a few months ago I suddenly became very interested in the instrument after listening to some songs with amazing bass lines (i.e Longview by Green Day, Is This It by The Strokes, Billie Jean by Michael Jackson, and many more) and realizing that I really wanna emulate them. I also decided that I wanted to build up my rhythm skills and learn how to hold down a song and lock in tight with a drum beat/metronome.

So I saved up a crap ton of money for a few months through gifts/weekly allowance (no part time job yet unfortunately...) and as a result, 2 days ago I was able to buy myself a Cort GB34J and a Hartke HD25 practice amp! Felt great to get the gear! What didn't feel great though, was the bass itself.