Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

High Mass / string thru body Bridge benefits?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ::::BASSIST::::, Sep 9, 2005.

1. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    I am debating whether to put a high mass / string thru body bridge on my SX shortscale p-bass... such as the Gotoh 206

My primary goal is to achieve more clarity.

Will such a bridge achieve my objective?

One reason I do not want to go this route, and I may be wrong on this, is b/c the bottom part of these higher mass bridges tend to be thicker which means I cant get my action as low.

2. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
    What brand bridge?

I think the primary benefit is supposed to be increased sustain...

I've had no direct experience with high mass bridges so I can't say.

3. Audiophage

Audiophage

Jan 9, 2005
    I've heard that the brand doesn't matter a whole lot. It's just a matter of having a good high mass bridge that will help with sustain, and it should be constructed well.

I put a Badass II bridge on my Jazz Bass, and while its not a string-through it definetly is clearer sounding with more sustain. Oh, and the harmonics sound amazing.

4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
  5. Bongolation

Bongolation

Nov 9, 2001
    California
    No Bogus Endorsements
    More of the fundamental note will be retained, all other things being equal. The way to think of it is that less of the string's vibration will be transferred through the bridge to the body, so there's less harmonic complexity. This also increases sustain.

I wrote a long series of posts about the physics of this a year or two ago on the FDP, but the above is all you really need to know.