Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

High School Band

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by TheTestvb, Jun 29, 2001.

1. TheTestvb

TheTestvb

Jun 21, 2001
    Hey Hey
    I'm a new bassist u can say i'v bene playing for ow... two months. Well I am a trumpetp layer of 5 years and will be entering my 2ed year of highschool/ band. But this year in band i hope to play bass. Does anyone have any sugjestions on what i should learn befor the school year starts.
    I know i need to learn Bass clef and i'm worknog on it but like how much should i learn (please odnt say all) and what else should i work on?

P.s I have to tell my dirctor i want to paly bass dunno if he'll let me :-/

2. TheTestvb

TheTestvb

Jun 21, 2001
    sorry for the spelling/grammer errors:-/

3. Well, our high school band has a bass and two guitar players. Along with a full rhythm section including drumset, ensoniq, piano, and latin percussion. Plus the other 300 members of the band.

4. Ahh not to worry, i make drummer mistakes all the time. :p

Welcome to Talkbass. ok i am going to get soooo shot for suggesting this but Bite me! :)

Ever thought about tab as a starting point? Just to get you really familiar with the fret board etc. Then move to Chord charts, you know you go to Olga.net and find the chordpro of songs?

Then get a teacher? I dunno dude, i am self taught and am rattling off whateveryone else usually says!
    :D:D

Merls