High schooler attempting to start a band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Ryan Atchison, Sep 22, 2016.

Tags:
  1. I am a freshman In high school. I've been looking to start a band for a while. I have a drummer. Nobody I know plays guitar. I don't know any male vocalists either. Does anybody have advice for finding bandmates?
    Thanks!

Jimmy4string likes this.
  2. Johnny Crab

Johnny Crab HELIX user & BOSE Abuser

Feb 11, 2004
    Texas
    @Ryan Atchison If you are not in high school band, you should consider it seriously.

Start A Band?
    Check with your band directors and the band members to see if any either play guitar now or have experience. You may be surprised.

Vocalist?
    Besides folks you know, check with the high school chorus group(if there is one) and.....wait for it....church youth choir folks.
    I did sound for our one stoplight church here and there is sometimes amazing talent hidden there. One young lady sang exactly like Sheena Easton on "Wind Beneath My Wings". Whether or not they'd want to be in your band, fit, and/or be able to be a "front person"/band leader(for real or in appearance only) is another question. In the 70's our lead vocalist could sing anyone(Boston, Journey, Zeppelin, Queen, etc) but lacked big time in audience-handling skills....he wound up "retiring" after a few years to be a bank teller.

Jhengsman likes this.
  3. knumbskull

knumbskull

Jul 28, 2007
    UK
    Just put the word out on facebook/whatever, put ads up in your local rehearsal space (if you have one)... A rhythm section seeking a guitarist should be an easy sell!

4. LowFish

LowFish

Nov 8, 2014
    Coastal NC
    Talk to people, our current singer was found by our old rhythm guitarist, he bounced a couple of checks and had to deal with it at the bank, struck up a conversation with the bank lady about playing in a band and her telling him that she is a singer next thing we know she has been here for 3.5 years now.

5. Mvilmany