1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Highway 1 or MIM

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mahumadi, Oct 25, 2009.

1. Mahumadi

Mahumadi Banned

Apr 19, 2009
    North Eastern PA
    Ive had my eye on a MIM Jazz at the local music store - Brand new marked down to $360.

I just came across a gorgeous 03' Highway 1 Jazz on CL with OHSC for $450.

Im fairly new to the bass scene and have been wanting a great Jazz bass. Being able to play the MIM at the store is a good thing. However, the Highway 1 is about an hour and a half away. id hate to make that drive if the MIM would be a better bang for the buck. Ive never had a chance to play a Highway 1 so im curious as to what you guys think about this situation? Which would be your choice, the MIM new or the used Highway 1?

2. J. Crawford

J. Crawford

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    HW1.

Same thing as a MIM, but assembled in the US.

3. MNAirHead

MNAirHead Supporting Member

Highway 1 is made in USA and has some resale potential..

4. John Wentzien

John Wentzien

Jun 25, 2007
    Elberta, AL
    Artist:TC Electronic RH450 bass system (original test-pilot)
    My main player is an "03 highway 1

I love it!

5. Earthquake

Earthquake

Dec 19, 2007
    SoCal
    Not the same at all. Different neck, pickups, wood...

6. VincentGrim

VincentGrim Supporting Member

Aug 17, 2008