Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Highway One Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Stompboxx, Jul 23, 2005.

1. I just picked up a Highway One P-Bass. I love it. Just wondering what you all think of them.

2. Funky Tune

Funky Tune

Apr 28, 2005
    Puerto Rico
    They are decent bass,congrats and enjoy your toy

3. pommes

pommes

Jun 13, 2005
    Germany
    I bought the Jazz last year and I found a bass I will propably keep for life
    nice!

I actually changed the bridge to a badass II and replaced the noisy pickups.

4. pommes

pommes

Jun 13, 2005
    Germany
  5. demolition

demolition Guest

Jul 5, 2003
    Conn.
    great bass,poor paint job,stripped mine down to wood and oiled it and called it a day,necks are'nt to great,as they age they tend to get humps or high spots in the upper register,as a bass luthier I fix MANY of them
    adam :crying:

6. Blueszilla

Blueszilla Bassist ordinaire

Apr 2, 2003
    The Duke City
    I have one, no problems yet. I like the sound, it plays just fine,
    in fact I like it the best for practicing, the string spacing suits me.
    Too bad others have had problems, maybe I'm just lucky.

7. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    I had a Highway 1 J (honey blonde).
    The differences in specs and accessories are known, but tonewise I must say it actually sounded like a GREAT Jazz Bass.
    The neck was not a steady as the graphite reinforced neck of an MIA, but nothing really wrong though (easy to fix, and happened only once).
    Overall, and as Fender QC does not seem to be consistent, I found it was an EXC+ Highway 1 J.
    The only reason why I sold it is that I couldn't switch to a 5er without selling the 4er...

[​IMG]

Cheers,
    Jay

8. AQUANOVA

AQUANOVA

Sep 13, 2000
    Los Angeles, CA
    [​IMG]