1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Hipshot Ultralite tuner alignment and asymmetrical headstock

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by JES, Feb 6, 2016.

1. JES

JES Supporting Member

This is my first build.

I'm attaching ultralites to a Warmoth asymmetrical headstock. I've eyeballed the positions of the tuners, but how would you measure and align the little screw holes for screwing down the tuners so it looks right on the other side? The distances wouldn't all be the same, I don't think. The headstock came predrilled for the bushings.

PICS:

tuners back.JPG tuners front.JPG

TIA!

PS: I'm following up a question that started on this thread:How to fix very light swirling on new body finish

2. PDX Rich

PDX Rich

Dec 19, 2014
    Portland, OR
    I am sure there are better ways, but taking a small straightedge and drawing lines on the back of the headstock bisecting each hole from the volute to the end should do the trick (tuners off, of course). Then, you'd just rotate until you see the line, ensure they are aligned, and then drill your pilot holes.

3. Christopher DBG

Christopher DBG Commercial User

May 18, 2015
    Westerly, RI
    Luthier/Owner, Christopher Bass Guitar
    I feel like I'm missing something, since I must not understand the question, so why not just tighten down the tuners where they are, and use the largest drill bit that will fit in the little hole to mark where the holes will be, then use a smaller drill bit to drill the holes. Why would they need to look right on the other side? You aren't drilling all the way through.