History of the Epiphone T-Bird 5 String?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by EdO., Jan 21, 2016.

1. Hello All. New to the forum but I've got 25+ years performing experience. Recently picked up a 2009 Epi T-Bird Pvo V 5 string, always wanted a T-Bird but needed a 5 string, figured I'd kill two birds with one purchase... When I discovered that these were even available (been out of playing for the past 10 years or so) started digging around for one only to discover they were no longer in production so had to go for a used model (kinda hard to find). Yeah I've read all the reviews and was aware of the issues before getting one, not an issue.

My questions is - does anyone know when they first started building the Epi T-Bird 5 string, how many years they were in production, when production ended etc? Just curious as to their history. Appreciate any info.

Cheers, EdO.

DevinWard369 likes this.
  2. I was interested in them also for awhile. Someone will soon chime in with more accurate info but as far as I know, they only made them for a couple of years.

There was an actual GIBSON five string T-Bird in the classifieds here not too long ago IIRC.

Welcome to TB!

3. I put an info request in on Gibson's web site yesterday, hopefully will get some info out of them eventually.

One more question - anyone know where I can get a copy of the owners manual for a T-Bird Pro V 5 string? Appreciate any help/info.

4. Gaolee

Gaolee Official leathers tester and crash dummy

I don't know the answers to your questions, but I'm very curious to find out what those answers are. I thought long and hard about buying one of the Epi 5ers, but ended up with a 4 string version instead. If I ever do end up with a 5 string bass, it will probably be an Epi Thunderbird pro V like you have.