History of the gig bag?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by corinpills, Apr 10, 2017.

1. corinpills

corinpills

Nov 19, 2000
    Boston, MA
    I was driving past Berklee the other day on the way to a paying gig, (so victory for me) and i was struck by the realization that I never had a gig bag the entire time I was a student there in the early 90s. Now, all the kids look pretty chill with their bass over their shoulder, crossing against the light into oncoming traffic while checking texts on their phones.

When i was there,.some guitarists had gig bags, but I don't think I recall many bassist having them. I used to carry my Pedula in a big, heavy rectangular box along Haviland Street to every lab or private lesson. When did they become common? I wonder if I would have blown off less classes if it didn't entail lugging that monstrosity of a case.

2. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Gold Supporting Member

i honestly don't remember when they became common: but i'm glad they did! i still have a hardshell case that i could use if i needed extra protection, but i'm so glad i don't have to lug my instruments around in them.

i've been using gig bags exclusively for 20+ years, i think. much less bulk and awkwardness, IMO.

3. Dan Knowlton

Dan Knowlton Sometimes you're the dog, sometimes the tree Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2000
    Palm Coast, FL
    I've been playing 17 years now and have never used a hard case except for the one that came with my Ken Lawrence brase 5 (formfitted and foam - about the same weight as a good gig bag) and even then I switched over to a nice gig bag my wife bought me. Levy's Leathers LM-88 that has separate sides like an acoustic guitar gig bag. Still using it after all these years and have never had a problem with it.

Dan

4. corinpills

corinpills

Nov 19, 2000
    Boston, MA