Hitting the string above

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Loke, Oct 23, 2005.

1. Loke

Oct 23, 2005
    Well, Im a complete newbie, and this place seems to deal with issues above my skill, but I'll ask this anyway.

I've only been playing for a week and a friend of mine has been teaching me the basics, even though she's not much of a bassplayer. She tells me that its ok to hit the string above the one Im playing, if I keep my thumb on it. Now, that makes it pretty easy to play, but the thing is, I can hear the string above even though I keep my thumb on it, so maybe that isnt so good? Is that a good method to learn, or should I try to play in some other way?
  2. Welcome to Talkbass. I guess you play with a pick (sv. plektrum). No, I think you should try to hit only the string you want to play, using smaller movements. String muting can be done with the palm of your picking hand.
  3. mann

Jul 2, 2005
    Now what makes you assume the guy plays with a pick?? (Jeg er fra Danmark og bruger også mest ordet plektrum eller plekter! ;) )

When plucking with fingers (2 alternating would be the best to start on), the trick is to mute the strings above with your remaining fingers on the plucking hand, the ones below with your 4 fretting fingers, wich are naturally resting on the strings while playing. It's normal to rest your right hand thumb (assuming that you're right handed!) on one of the pickups while playing on the two (tonally) lowest strings or so. When you play the D- and G-string though, you might want to slip you thumb down to rest on the E-string, thus muting it as well.
    It is important to remember that even though a string is not "in danger" of being hit by any of your fingers, it HAS to be dampend because the resonance of other strings playing one of its partial tones (overtones/harmonics), through the wood, the air, the universe will make it vibrate and send sometimes very unwanted sounds out through the pickups!