1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hofner, P Bass, Lakland Decade Sound Clips

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Beck McCartney, Sep 27, 2010.

1. Beck McCartney

Beck McCartney

Apr 21, 2009
    Seattle, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar Amps, Lakland Basses
    A few days ago I picked up a Hofner Contemporary Series 500/1. I started learning some Beatles songs... which has been long overdue. Anyway, I thought I would post a comparison of my three bass for everyone to hear. I am playing the song Something. It has a great bass line. I only spent a half hour learning it before bed, so no making fun of my playing.

I am recording straight into Protools HD3, with a True Systems Precision 8 as my preamp.

I set the basses the way that I normally would. The 50's Road Worn P Bass has volume and tone all the way up. The Skyline Decade with passive single coil chisonics has both pickups and tone all the way up. The Hofner Is only using the neck pickup (for that Paul sound), and is on the rhythm setting. All basses have round wound nickel D'addario's.

Enjoy

Attached Files:

2. Beck McCartney

Beck McCartney

Apr 21, 2009
    Seattle, TN
    ...and the P Bass.

Attached Files:

3. Beck McCartney

Beck McCartney

Apr 21, 2009
    Seattle, TN
    Any thought anyone?

4. I loved the sound of the hofner. it was butter and velvety.

My second fav was the p bass which sounded very nice also.
    Not so much a fan of the decade. it had different quality to it that the others did not.

5. Beck McCartney

Beck McCartney

Apr 21, 2009
    Seattle, TN
    Yeah, the decade is weird like that. On it's own it doesn't sound spectacular, but in a mix, it just fits perfectly. I'm really happy with the Hofner though. I've wanted one for a long time.

6. jasper383

jasper383

Dec 5, 2004
    Durham NC
    Nice playing and recording.