Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hold 'em, anyone?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by canopener, May 22, 2004.

1. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    With the rise in popularity of Texas Hold 'em since last fall or so, I've been playing a lot more poker. Don't ask me why, but one of my friends got into it and drug us all along, because we really hadn't anything else better to do, anyway.

Has the poker bug bit anyone else on TB? We usually play once or twice a week, and I'm getting stoked to play tonight. For the most part, we're pretty much even between ourselves, but we usually clean house when we play with other groups...

2. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000
    TX
    Yessir.

I started playing this January with a bunch of people in my dorm. We played at least once weekly, usually a $5 buy in. We'd occasionally play tournaments too.

I love it, even though I'm not that good at it. It's a very relaxing game to play among friends.

3. i haven't played poker in about four years. last time, i took a pot of about $800 on texas hold em. i spent it all on beer. poverty has had the better of me since.

4. Yep.
    A bunch of my friends got into it about 3 or 4 months ago and invited me to join them. We've been playing ever since. Well, we haven't played in about 3 weeks or so, but that's largely due to people graduating and their families being in town for graduation and everything. But at one point we were playing 3 - 5 days out of the week. One of the guys bought some really nice chips, and another recently won a bunch of money in Vegas, so we could be seeing a new poker table in his apartment soon, too.

Typical buy in for us is $30 with an $8 limit. Yeah, we play limit, but we all figure that the possibility of losing $30+ in one hand isn't really too appealing.

5. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001