Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hole too wide for Dunlop Straplock

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Captain Awesome, Sep 21, 2001.

1. Captain Awesome

Captain Awesome

Apr 2, 2001
    PDX
    Basically, I would like to install a Dunlop Strap-Lok pin on my bass, but the required screw for the Dunlop is narrower and has tighter threading than the stock screw that was in the bass.

I know there have been threads on this before, but what I need to know is what people who have had this problem do to fix it and their techniques explained in detail because I'm no hardware expert.

I would also like to know if I should leave the felt pad on, and if I could go back to the original setup if I mess with the strap pin hole and it still doesn't work.

:confused:

2. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Jez dude. i dont know, but you could try threding the new screw on a toothpick, like i do, if you strip a screw. alot of repairers and shops do this to fix a striped thred. it might work for what your talking about.

3. Captain Awesome

Captain Awesome

Apr 2, 2001
    PDX
    like just one toothpick or more?
    if the toothpick doesn't work will the hole be ruined?

4. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    Well im sure all it would take is one toothpick. but if its a REALLY big hole, then i guess you could try two. But remember, this is a sugjestion, dont kill me if it doesnt work. and i dont think it will Mess up your hole that bad. what its does is rethred on the toothpick. making more space in between. making a new thred.

5. Use the old screw. Use the piece of felt over also. Works on all mine.

6. Captain Awesome

Captain Awesome

Apr 2, 2001
    PDX
    The cap of the old screw is too wide to work with the straplock pin.