Holy Bageezuz--What in the world is that rattle?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Bonafide, Mar 20, 2003.

1. Bonafide

Oct 15, 2002
    I can't find it period. It comes and goes at will and regardless of which string I pluck or how I hold the instrument it is present WHEN it want's to be.

It sounds like a string rattling against SOMETHING, but I can't find it if it is. Sounds like a loose endpin screw but it isn't, at least not when I check the screw.

I am a novice with the upright in the respect that I have only owned this bass for a month. I am very familiar and intimate with it though as I have spent hours and hours setting it up.

Please anyones suggestion on where to check would be so, so ,so appreciative.
    This rattle only happens on occasion (Sometimes 3-4 times in an hour though) but when it does it drives me nuts.

Thank you.

P.S. The bass is an Engelhardt Swingmaster-It has TI Spirocores if that helps.
  2. 95% of the time, the rattle is caused by the endpin. Englehardts and old Kays with thier original endpins have the same problem. It's caused by the metal endpin rod vibrating against the metal endpin socket. The only sure cure is to have a luthier replace the endpin with one that has a wood socket.
  3. I am no luthier but I believe Bob is bang on the dot with this. My Swingmaster has the original pin and on occasion it rattles and/or buzzes. I check the screw and most of the time it is tight. Sometime I plan on having it replaced but I hate to have it away from me for a week or two while it is fixed.

4. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    Tighten the set screw with pliers, or remove the screw and sharpen the end a little for a tighter fit. I've also known of a guy who used his Dremel tool to grind a little of the inside portion of the shaft so the oscillating shaft had nothing to vibrate against.