Home Stereo Question

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by jazzbo, Jan 19, 2004.

1. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    So, I currently do not have a stereo at home. My girlfriend and I live together, in a one-bedroom apt. in San Francisco, and we need a stereo. We've been using the computer's CD player, which is not fun.

I could use some advice.

Here's what I want. Small. Very small. I'm no longer 18, and don't need serious bump or "kick-ass" bass that blows the pictures off the wall. What I want is simply this:

• Quality audio. Not necessarily loud, but clear, precise and solid.
    • Durability. It must last for 7 or more years.
    • Obvioulsy, as a musician, I want to be able to hear the bass clearly, or adjust it so I can.
    • Connectivity. I would like to be able to add a peripheral or two in the future. Maybe a 300-CD changer, but definitely a hand-held MD, and definitely some type of multi-disc changer.
    • $400 maximum.
    • Small. Must fit on a book shelf. The smaller, the better. Unobtrusive, non-glaring. Tiny. Something where it is heard, but not seen.

So, I saw this:

Denon D M31S - micro system - radio/CD

My only negative is that there is no balance control, (I use the Aebersold CDs often). And that's a BIG negative.

Can anybody suggest something similar in sound quality, size, connectivity and price, but with a balance control?

Thank you VERY MUCH all!
  2. My family has one of the best bookshelf sound systems I've ever heard in my life. It's a Yamaha CRX-E150. We got it at Best Buy for about 300 IIRC. It has all of the features you listed, and it's an audiophile's dream. My father, who has not had a stock car stereo since 1989, left this stereo the way it was. At first I thought he was crazy, then I listened to Norah Jones (yeah yeah, so sue me) on it. I've never felt a thump like that come from the speakers.
  3. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    We've got a TEAC and I've just bought a Sony for my daughter.