Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Home theater: I've got all but one thing sorted out...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ericman197, Oct 10, 2004.

1. Ericman197

Ericman197

Feb 23, 2004
    Iowa
    What type of subwoofer should I go for? SVSubwoofer or a tactile transducer? I have no experience with either subwoofer so I'm only just guessing at what would be better. The most important bonus for me is that I can attach the buttkicker to a couch and use isolation pegs to keep vibrations out. The room is going to be soundproofed, but I have a feeling that the sub lows will still escape. Either way I'd like to attach a shaker of some sort to the couch for that extra sub feel, but I'm just not sure if one of these Buttkickers can actually replace a regular subwoofer ( ie: can you actually hear/feel the bass? Do you need to be touching the object? Is one buttkicker enough for a 3 seater couch? etc. ). If the two subwoofers are in fact equal, I'd probably go for the shaker... I'm into a lot of deep bass and they're roughly the same price. Even though I like the feel of air rushing at me pounding my chest, I don't listen to anything that loud.

2. http://www.hsuresearch.com/products has some cool ones. Too many variables: wife/cosmetics, room size, budget, musicality vs. theater sound.

My old velodyne is about to die and I need a modest sub that will little slam a little in low volume scenerious since I live in a townhouse. I have been checking out this cool pinnacle. I like it becasue it is isobaric and only 400 clams at closeout price. http://www.aboutgizmos.com/pidisub350.html

Either that or the HsU VTF 10" model.

3. Ericman197

Ericman197

Feb 23, 2004
    Iowa