1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Honest question: When did you know you became a (or the) bassist?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by nerkoids, Feb 3, 2016.

1. nerkoids

nerkoids Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2014
    Montreal
    I'm assuming with this question than most, if not all of us, might have started on a different instrument, or maybe sang, paint, sound technician, or picked up the instrument one day only to never put it down, etc...

Now, if some of you have always felt you were a bassist, was there a point you remember not being one, music-wise?

I know there's going to be glib and sarcastic responses, and that's fine, but I'm genuinely curious about other folks.

For me, I had been playing keyboards and pianos for like 25 years, singing as well. Still do. When I finally got my first left-handed guitar, I was ecstatic, no more faking it with Kontakt instruments or Realguitar stuff. Real strumming!!! Power chords! Bends that don't sound like a keyboard pitch bend, you name it...

Then I decided that I wanted to learn to play bass. I now have 4 proper basses, 2 Ps, 1 Jazz and a Violin bass... and for some reason, bass speaks more to me. It's affected the way I compose or play music now. It's made me less bored with music by concentrating on all the musical space that exists within the constrains of simpler chord progressions.

Anyway... discuss, if you like.

2. rufus.K

rufus.K

Oct 18, 2015
    SoCal
    I played guitar from 6th grade till I was 25. Being lefty, I never owned a bass, just guitars (most of which were bastards I re-made into lefties). I started playing with a bass player who always told me I was a bass player at heart and didnt know it. I usually tolld him to piss off when he said it.
    Once day, I found my beloved Jazz #1 in the used section of a small music store and bought it.