1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hope I always stay teachable

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by slobake, Nov 5, 2018.

1. slobake

slobake resident ... something Supporting Member

When I was younger and strung out on drugs I knew everything and no one could teach me. That attitude almost killed me.
    Now, I have an 11-year-old grandson who knows everything. It's okay he is 11-years-old and hopefully will learn better.
    Lately I have even seen some posts by unteachable adults. Makes me think about myself when I see people acting like that. Are there areas that I am an "expert" on?
    Yesterday I met a classical pianist. I offered to shake her hand and she declined saying she was about to play and needed to protect her hands. Okay, I can see that, no problem. When I said "You probably don't want to shake my hand anyway I am a rock musician," she walked of in a huff. I spoke it with a big smile on my face and laughed. My intent was that I might someone lessen her ability with my lack of ability. In hindsight I can see that maybe she understand my statement in another matter, maybe as an insult. Never got a chance to talk to her again, maybe I was mistaken about her response.
    Got to watch her play close up with a trio and she was amazing. Sadly, I allowed our earlier encounter to ruin my enjoyment. She had an amazing bassist with her and I could have learned some things from him as well as her.
    Still trying to learn, hope I remember this next time something like that comes up.

blastoff99 likes this.
  2. Why, she shoulda.......

3. Gaolee

Gaolee Official leathers tester and crash dummy