Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hopeless?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ChildoftheKorn, Jun 1, 2003.

1. ChildoftheKorn

ChildoftheKorn

May 21, 2003
    IL
    Well here i need help. First off lets get my backround out of the way im a newer bassist playing for about a month and a half, without lesson, i dont know how to read chords or notes. I got this bass last christmas and well i didnt pick it up till a month and a half or so ago well i got ok pretty quickly i can play megadeth, misifts black sabbath. But alas im the love child of tablature. I find myself wanting a bit more from my music then to just impress my friends. I feel like my skill isnt growing anymore and i really want to make my own bass lines up. And im utterly clueless on where to beging, should i get a few books , if so name a few, or should i get lessons? Im starting to lose intrest in bass because of this and i only play once a day now instead of 4 times a day. I love my bass and would love any suggetsion you guys could give me.

2. incognito89x

incognito89x ♪♫♪ ♪ ♪ ♫&#983

Sep 22, 2002
    Royal Oak, Michigan
    Buying books would be a good way, or if you have the money, a teacher would be even better. Hands on experience. You'll be able to learn a lot of the things you said you don't understand.

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    Well as a self taught bassist of 3 years or so, Talkbass has helped me out a lot... so stick around, ya might learn a thing or two.