1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Horizontal Pickup Magnets?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by onesandzeroes, Dec 23, 2016.

Tags:
  1. onesandzeroes

onesandzeroes

Dec 23, 2016
    I have some neodymium magnets that are too long to fit under the string in the usual vertical orientation.

I was thinking of placing one magnet horizontally under each string with wire wrapped as pictured.

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Attached Files:

2. Will_White

Will_White

Jul 1, 2011
    Salem, OR
    That's a lot of magnetic pull, a 3/16" N52 Neodymium magnet is roughly equivalent to a strong ceramic magnet and you're looking at 1" + Neos

Last edited: Dec 24, 2016
  3. onesandzeroes

onesandzeroes

Dec 23, 2016
    Unfortunately, I'm still a beginner at this stuff. Would a lot of magnetic pull be a good thing?

I did try building the pickup. About 6000 turns of 40 AWG using four 1/4" x 1" N48 Neodynium magnets laid out horizontally (as shown in the sketch).

I found the pickup to be quite weak on the lower end (when compared to using a piezo...which is my only reference as I have no other pickups) and using the Ruby amp (Ruby). Higher end was still weak...but almost acceptable.

I think I need more turns. I'll try with four 1/4" x 1/2" Neodynium magnets in the traditional vertical orientation and use 10k turns of 40AWG. Hopefully it's loud enough.

4. MPU

MPU

Sep 21, 2004
    Valkeala Finland
    Your current magnet layout does not work well. If you put steel blades on end of your magnets it will work better.

Will_White likes this.
  5. callofcthulhu

callofcthulhu

Oct 16, 2012
    I'd love to hear how it sounds.

6. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Commercial User

Feb 4, 2011
    Fillmore, CA
    Professional Luthier