How can i become a bass guitar luthier in Canada?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by tapiodmusic, Apr 19, 2024.

1. tapiodmusic

tapiodmusic

Oct 25, 2023
    Hello
    Im an 18 yrs old student.
    I always wanted to become a luthier,
    a bass guitar luthier.
    And I've been wondering where i can learn
    how to build electric bass.
    Seems most "guitar" luthiers take semina or couses.
    But "bass" luthiers those who only make bass guitars, i wonder where they learn how to craft/repair.
    From where do i need to start?
    Thank you for reading!

2. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 4, 2011
    Fillmore, CA
    Professional Luthier
    You've come to the right place! This forum, Luthier's Corner, part of TalkBass, is the biggest most complete library of knowledge about designing and building electric basses that exists anywhere. This is where you learn, by reading our threads. Pick out a few project threads that look like what you want to try. Then, get started building a project. Join in here, documenting your projects as you work on them. Ask questions when you run into problems. We'll be reading along and offer our advice. Take it at your own pace, gathering the tools and skills, trying out different techniques. It's better than going to some school. And it's basically free.

3. Yes, TB is a good place to start. Watch build threads here and check in with the Hardware, Setup and Repair forum for repairs and fixes. It’s a good place to learn with helpful people. The first things I tried there was no TB, no YouTube. I ventured into the garage armed with the few books you could find on the subject.

I will add most of building on an electric guitar will apply to basses also and I believe some of the programs will let you build a bass instead.

4. rudy4444

rudy4444

Mar 13, 2012
    Central Illinois
    As others say, Talkbass is an excellent resource.