1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How Can I Break Through Contrived Playing?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Progfan44, Aug 19, 2012.

1. I have been playing for about 9 months now and have found myself in somewhat of a rut, but not really. Let me try to explain, from the moment I started playing bass I always knew I wanted to master it. Given my love of virtuoso players like Les Claypool and John Myung, I have always sought to emulate them by learning as much complex theory I can as well as doing as many chops exercises necessary to get my playing up to snuff. And so I did (or am rather). I try to learn every mode for every scale I learn and try to learn every scale I can wrap my fingers around. However, doing just these 2 things as well as learning songs has out me in a bit of an unpleasant situation. While I know the one octave fingerings for most patterns of scales most players will use, I can never find a way to connect them to what I play, nor do I know where to find those notes outside of those fingerings. Whenever I jam with my guitar virtuoso friends, I have to pre-plan my fills and interesting patterns way before i do them, which makes me very uneven as a player in jam situations. I also ensure that when I do do them it will always be in the simple fingering pattern, and won't run up down and all around the fret board as I wish to do So, my question to the members of this forum is how can I become more concise, meticulous, meaningful and spontaneous as a player? How can I apply my base knowledge of complex concepts and relatively well-built up chops to actually playing intricate bass lines throughout a chord progression rather then keeping it bottled up for a brief section at the end? Any advice or related exercises would be greatly appreciated!