1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How can I know that I have a good teacher?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Pacer1991, Aug 14, 2012.

1. Pacer1991

Pacer1991

Aug 14, 2012
    So I'm new to TalkBass, new to actually studying the bass, though I got my electric at seventeen. The teacher I have, he's actually who I went to when I first got it, though I haven't seen him in years. Just starting out, I'm not really sure how to tell whether or not this guy and I are a good match.

He's sincere, he's a good bassist - but I'm not convinced he's a good teacher. Right now it seems that he's just trying to teach me songs. My lessons are also only thirty minutes long, once a week.

On my fourth lesson (I've had five) he gave me my first scales, which made things feel more balanced, but today he didn't even mention them. He didn't even go over the song he's been teaching me and gave me another one to learn, "if you want to, it's up to you."

**I probably could have condensed the above, but I really wanted to hear the opinions of a seasoned bassist. I come from a family of musicians, all of which are skeptical, but none of them are bassists. They play brass, guitar, or piano.

2. Sloop John D

Sloop John D

Jun 29, 2012
    Not every great player is a great teacher. My bad teachers were guys who did exactly what your teacher is doing now. Every week he just wanted to teach me a song. Sometimes he would give me something more substantial, like a scale, but he would fail to give me enough information about it to let me know why it was important to learn or even how to use it. It didn't make much difference because he would seem to forget we talked about it by the next lesson.