1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

how can i make my Hartke sound better?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mitchbass777, Mar 6, 2008.

1. mitchbass777

mitchbass777

Mar 6, 2008
    fresno ca
    ok im new to talkbass so i hope noone has dealt with this yet.
    i did a search and nothing came up.

I bought a Hartke kickback 15 its a 120 watt combo amp.
    At low to mid volume it sounds great. but when i got to crank it up past halfway on the volume it loses it tone and just farts at you so bad it unreal.

I have the eq set as follows shape 75% bass 65% mid 57% and high 45% i gave these figures based on the knob all the way off is 0% 12noon is 50% and cranked is 100% just so there is no confusion.

I thought the speaker might be in the process of blowing out but when i pulled it out and checked it it was fine.

THe amp does not have and ext. speaker jack so i could not see if it was the head. but it runs just fine so i dont think its that.

I have never used a aluminum cone driver so i though that was a possiblity.

what do you guys think?

2. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD Supporting Member

Feb 20, 2005
    Syracuse NY
    Endorsing artist: Dingwall Guitars
    The shape feature is scooping out your mids, so without them, but with the amount of bass boost you're using, you're losing your speaker's 'headroom' and also the clean headroom of the relatively small power amp you have.

Get rid of the mid-scoop, you'll hear yourself better and won't need to turn up as much. That should cure half the problem. Bring your bass boost down and that should help the other half.

3. mitchbass777

mitchbass777

Mar 6, 2008
    fresno ca