Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How can I record a pro sound into my D.A.W?

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by tall dave, Mar 28, 2005.

1. tall dave

tall dave

Mar 19, 2005
    I am new to the process of recording an upright bass and in the market for a condenser Mic and if needed a bridge pickup (I have one shure beta 57A). I have a 4 channel mixer and can record two mono tracks into my computer at 24.bit. Any insight on a condenser mic around 200.00 dollars that you have found to be worth it, and a good bridge pickup for around the same price. Also, if there are any techniques that you have found to work well in order to capture the raw sound of the upright bass. Any other comments that you would see to be helpful would be great.
    Thanks Dave,

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I just did an informal recording yesterday and was really happy with the sound that I got through an AKG C3000B. There's one at eBay for $150 with about 10 hrs to go. They retail around $300.

3. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    When recording an acoustic instrument, I have always gotten the best results using a dual source method. Whether it is two mics in different positions or a one mic, one pickup DI method, I have always preferred the ability to get two sources and play around with them post production.

I have been done many, many recordings with acoustic guitar. The best sound I have ever gotten was with a mic off-axis on a boom about 30 inches from the guitar and a second on a boom crammed as close to the sound hole as you get it without disturbing play. Both were EV RE20s.

In mix down, the two channels were tweaked back and forth quite a bit at various times.