How detrimental is practicing without an amp?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MickeyMickey, Jan 12, 2006.

1. MickeyMickey

Dec 17, 2005
    I'm one of those singer/songwriter multi-instrumentalist types. I can play piano, guitar, and sing fairly well. I haven't really played in a band in a while and I mostly just do a lot of recording. I started playing bass a little while ago so I could record bass tracks.

Whenever I practice, I do it unplugged and rarely I'll play through headphones. I'm curious, how bad is this going to be for my overall technique? I realize that I'm probably plucking harder than I have to, and I can't address all those plucking noises that get amplified when plugged in (cause I can't hear them).

Lately I've been trying to address this by practicing through headphones more often. Since all my bass tracks are going to be recorded direct, won't it be alright for me to practice through a direct box into headphones? I'm curious what you guys think and what the best way to improve my technique in this situation would be. I'd like to avoid buying a bass amp for practice because I have far too much music gear already, but if it were small and under $100 I probably would do it.
  2. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    My only issue is when playing in a LOUD band...I find it takes about a week or so before I get comfortable enough to 'play'(meaning, the perceived louder volume makes me back off with my plucking technique until I get readjusted).

Otherwise, I'm OK with practicing 50% of the time with no amp.
  3. I probably do more than 50% of my practicing without an amp.

The benefits are that you hear every fret-buzz, so you focus of fingering correctly, and you don't have the temptation to start messing with the tone controls to get 'just that bit more' of your desired sound.