Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How did you all decide to become bassists?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by BillyBishop, Feb 8, 2001.

1. BillyBishop

BillyBishop

Feb 7, 2001
    Canada
    Lets hear some stories.

Me personnaly, I was a guitar player. I wandered into the school music room to see what my friend was doing, He was always hanging out in there. He was strumming away on his acoustic guitar. THere was a bass guitar sitting beside him. I picked it up and started playing. The first thing that I noticed was the huge strings. I started playing and it was the coolest thing ever. WHen I stood up my knees were shaking it was so much fun. So I sold my 3 guitars and got some basses.

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I started on drums, and became interested in bass when my best friend took it up. We played in church together.

He missed a lot, and I started messing around with bass when he wasn't there.

He finally quit coming altogether, and I have been on bass ever since.

3. I_Dream_Of_Bass

I_Dream_Of_Bass

Feb 8, 2001
    I started playing g****r and then found it a little stale. So I played drums for a while. Drums are a lot of fun, but way too expensive and way to much to lug to rehearsal. So I went back to g****r. Eventually some of the people that I knew needed bass players to jam with, so I decided to give that a try. From the first day I started playing the bass, I realized that was the best instrument for me. I could do everything that I wanted to do from solo's to rythm to accenting the drums. The only limits that I have with the bass now are the ones that I can't see through.

4. Huna Funk

Huna Funk

Dec 5, 2000
    My three best childhood friends. Two played guitar, one played drums, I didn't have much choice if I wanted to continue to hang out with them :)