1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How did you learn to luthier?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by tobo, Jul 27, 2012.

1. tobo

tobo

Nov 22, 2005
    Title says it all really.. it is something I would really like to get into, professionally or just as a hobby..

In have a book on guitars, and apparantly one famous luthier just showed up to a shop and refused to leave until they agreed to teach him :p

I was just curious as to how you guys got into it, were you taught, self taught etc, did you have your own woodworking shop and just practiced at it? etc

Im interested in your stories :)

2. Arnie

Arnie

May 14, 2005
    Kingston, NY
    I have built items out of wood in the past , furniture especially, medicane chest, coffee table, entertainment center. I had a feel with woodworking actually really like it, then someone told me I could be my own bass, I ordered plans (cause I have no idea how to layout the bass accurately) and I am very happy with the progress. I am making tons of mistakes but able to correct them along the way.

3. This forum and other woodworking experience. Not that I would call myself a luthier by any means.

lowsound

4. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

May 20, 2005
    Norman, OK, USA
    Im not a real luthier. Ive built one bass and one 7 string baritone. Im working on a few basses right now.

Everything I know I have learned from reading this forum, watching YouTube videos, and from the process of building the instruments I have already built.

5. MPU

MPU

Sep 21, 2004
    Valkeala Finland