Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How did you switch from a 5 to a 6 string?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by need4mospd, Jan 17, 2006.

1. need4mospd

need4mospd

Dec 22, 2005
    Houston
    I started playing bass seriously on my Fender Jazz V and I recently decided I'd try out a 6 string 24 fret. Are there any techniques or exercises you've found that have helped you transition from a 5-string to a 6-string smoothly? Did you pretty much have to learn the bass all over again?

I play a very wide variety of styles including slapping/popping. Personally, I think keeping the C string muted will probably be the hardest thing to get used to, along with popping the G string(hehe) which is no longer the highest string. I understand it's gonna take a great deal of practice for me personally. I'm just wanting to here other's experiences with the switch.

2. Pruitt

Pruitt

Jun 30, 2005
    Danbury, CT
    I went from 4 to 6 last summer. All I did was only play the 6 and it felt normal to me after about 2-3 weeks. I'd start out plsying songs that you're familiar with and know well at first using just the standard 4 (or 5) strings, then once you get the hang of that, let loose on all 6.

I haven't looked back since. At least for the forseeable future, I doubt I'll play anything but a 6 as my regular bass.

Good luck and have fun!

3. I just picked up and played, dude. Play as you normally would, but instead of moving your hand position up the length of the neck, when you are reaching for higher notes, move your hand position up a string. Presto....

4. Shawnost

Shawnost It's all about the Hamiltons baby! Supporting Member

Sep 25, 2004
    Huntersville, NC