1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do I become a jazz bassist?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Duce-hands, Jun 13, 2012.

1. Duce-hands

Duce-hands

Nov 4, 2010
    I'll try to make this a protracted post. I've been playing electric bass for approximately two years, and I've made the decision that I would like to focus on the genre of jazz, although I listen to everything from Airto Moreira to Mingus and just about everything inbetween. I apologize for covering a subject already covered but I have searched the forum and I feel my question may produce an answer a little better suited to my situation(hopefully). My question is how? I don't understand how do I go from where i am to where I want to be, which is a point of understanding.

I read many post with different approaches including :
    "It's not really about "see this chord and play these notes" as it is "here's the composer's melody, here's the composer's harmony (chords), what do YOU hear going on? And can you hear it clearly enough that you can make ME hear it?"

For me, there's three areas of skill sets you need to work on:
    PHYSICAL APPROACH - working on developing the ability to not have your instrument be an impediment
    UNDERSTANDING - what most folks call theory, function of chords, how to build harmonic, melodic and even rhythmic tension and release
    HEARING - how to hear with clarity"