How do I form/join a band?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dawgawd, Aug 6, 2001.

1. dawgawd

Mar 23, 2000
    I've been playing bass for about 2 years now, guitar for about a year and a half. I'm not the best in the world by a long shot, but I am really really anxious to get a band going. This coming fall I am heading off to college and am hoping to join a band but I'm not sure how to go about it. I have a few major concerns.

1. How do I meet other musicians that might be interrested
    2. I've never met another punk/ska/emo fan in maine, how much luck am I going to have finding 2 or more who play the right instruments*
    *I will play music beyond punk and ska and such, but those are really my strong points. I will not have a metal band, I don't think that's in anyone's best interrest.
    3. My amp sucks.

also, I really want to do some cover songs, but i don't think i'm going to find that many people who would be interrested in the songs I like.

If anyone has ever been in such a position and knows how i might go about addressing my concerns, please post.
  2. Well, I can talk to you as a leadsinger.... cause I suck at bass ;)

First off, when you get to college (you should probably wait to start the band till then...) make SURE you have enough time...nothing sucks more then to form a band then realize you have to drop it.

After thats figured out, go down to the local music shop/store/whatever.... if there is a local stage where punk rock is played, go there... Talk to the owner and tell him/her that your lookin to start a band. If there is a Bulletin Board, post what you need and your number.

Go to places where music is taught, and if they have a bulletin board, post what you need, and your number. Talk to the instructer and tell him you need some help starting a band.