How do I get a good mixdown from a digital 8track?

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by APouncer, Jan 15, 2001.

1. APouncer

Nov 3, 2000
    Lancashire, UK
    I record on a digital Boss BR8 8track recorder. So far, so good - I think it's a great, easy use machine. I mixdown using an optical cable to a mini-disc. I am fairly new to all this so am wondering the best tricks to mixdown, I tend to record drums in stereo then guitar, bass, piano, vocals etc in mono. What is the best way to pan them? What are the best EQ's (ie should I EQ bass track with more bass gain?)? Should I have a big master level and low rec level or the other way round? What things should I look out for when auditioning the final mix? Any hints or tips would be appreciated.
  2. Mo' bass

Mo' bass

May 4, 2000
    Well, there are a couple of factors that come into play when doing a mix.

1: It's your music, make it sound like you want to.
    2: When EQing one instument, always do so while listening to the total sound. Don't over do it, just slightly correct the sound to compensate for other instuments being in the same frequency range.
    3: Try to add a LITTLE reverb to the vocals and maybe drums.
    4: Listen to other CD/MD's, on the same speakers you are going to mix on so you know the speakers sound.
    5: Try out your mix on various other amps/speakers. Unless you have expensive professional studio monitors what you hear is NOT what you get. What sounds good on one set of speakers might sound horrible on the next.
    6: Keep a balanced sound. You should be able to distinguis (sp) all the separate instruments in the final mix.

Panning, start here and work until it sounds ok.

Left -5..-3..0..3..5 Right
    Drums L : -5
    Drums R : +5
    Vocal Lead : 0
    Vocal backing 1 : -3
    Vocal backing 2 : +3
    Bass : 0
    Git : -2
    Keys : +2

It's cool for a g**t*r riff to be doubled, slighty delayed and then panned hard left and hard right. Just experiment.