1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do I get the sound I want

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by PSB, Sep 18, 2008.

1. PSB

PSB

Sep 18, 2008
    Essex, UK
    Hi,

I'm fairly new to the bass and haven't really worried about the tone coming out the amp till now I'm after getting a certian sound out of my amp but not sure how to acheive it.

I'm after a Duck Dunn type sound and don't where I should be sticking my Bass, middle and treble controls. I realise this would vary amp to amp.

Any advise?

Thanks

Pete :help:

2. sevenyearsdown

sevenyearsdown Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Sanborn, NY
    I would start with a Fender P-bass and a decent set of flat wound strings...or maybe even a Squier depending on your budget. IMO, the bass & strings are to contribute more to that type of tone than the amp at this point.

3. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    Hmm, hard thing to do. A lot of it's the bass (any Precison style bass with good flatwounds will get you into the right area) and Duck's attack. He's a very physical player so he pulls the strings very hard.

And if you're after his Stax recorded sound, it's much more problematic. See, while he used an old Ampeg B-15 in the studio, he has said he never liked how it sounded in the room. It was only after it was recorded, EQ'd, and mixed with the rest of the sounds that it sounded like that. Plus he's not afraid of having a good bit of highs in his sound either.