Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

how do i get this sound??

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by pil, Mar 4, 2005.

1. pil

pil

Feb 17, 2005
    Pimlico, UK
    Hi, im a complete novice when it comes to bass effects, never used them, never wanted them until now...

Now this might be hard or very easy to answer but im looking for the distorted/overdriven sound that you get from a little fender 15watt guitar amp lol still here??...

I ask because i plugged my new jazz into my guitar amp because although my ashdown is very good, its big, LOUD and doesn't have a headphone socket...but anyway thats besides the point...

Im tempted by the boss ODB-3 but ive read quite alot of bad reviews about it, if anyone else knows the sound im talking about and how to capture it on my big amp could you please please please tell me!

2. The sound you're hearing out of your little 15W combo is clipped distortion...it's what happens when your amp just can't keep up with the volume and output signal. I do the same thing sometimes with my little Crate home practice jobber.

To replicate that, you might want to look for strictly overdrive effects. Don't look for anything called distortion, the effect might be too radical.

The Boss ODB-3 can do this, and not all the reviews are bad. In fact, most people that don't like it really want something else and just blame the pedal. You can get a solid "Cranked 15W" overdrive out of it, but you need to know the controls. MXR and Boss both make purely Overdrive pedals...you might want to look at guitar pedals too. Much more variety.

3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI