1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How do I get this sound?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jlepre, Aug 21, 2012.

1. jlepre

jlepre Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2007
    Parsippany, NJ
    I'm a veteran bassist with over 30 years experience, but I have really never used any effects. I am trying to cop the sound of the intro bass line of this song.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82DSEkHatpw
    I don't want to spend alot, as this is really the only song that I will use any effects. Plus I'm not sure if I will need it for more than one performance.

Any suggestions?

2. Envelope filter or bass synth, if you have it.

3. jlepre

jlepre Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2007
    Parsippany, NJ
    That's the thing I don't own one single effect, so I'm looking for inexpensive suggestion from those in the know.

I was thinking envelope filter as well, but not sure which would work best for bass.

4. jlepre

jlepre Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2007
    Parsippany, NJ
    WOW!! $150 is about $100 too expensive. Anything less expensive, or maybe I should be looking used huh

5. The MXR can't be beat and $150 is a very reasonable price for a unit of that quality.

A couple others to check out:

Digitech Bass Synth Wah - I think this would nail what your looking for.

Behringer BSY600 Bass Synthesizer - I've known many people who bought these for one song because they are $50 new... I do not know anyone who has kept it though.

6. THORRR

THORRR Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2010
    Parker, Colorado
    While an envelope filter will get you the tone of the original,
    what's more important is you get the notes right.

Critical to making this sound good is the bass part being
    played with the correct notes. The tone is incidental to the
    recording.