1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do I get this wicked tone?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Stevosimpson, Oct 27, 2013.

1. Stevosimpson

Stevosimpson

Dec 31, 2012
    Winnipeg, MB
    Hey guys, I posted this in a different section but I guess it applies here a bit and Im looking for help.

Skip to 5:40.

I really am a total noob to EQ'ing and I really would love to get tone like that in my recordings (I'm in a metal band). Any tips on how you'd go about getting tone like that?

I have a sansamp RBI + darkglass B3K and an ESP B-416SM.

I can mic my mesa powerhouse 8x10 and buster 200 as well but its not very easy for me to do, as I have to have it fairly loud.

Thanks for any help on this tight metal tone journey :cool:

2. russpurdy

russpurdy

Apr 16, 2013
    I don't mean to sound insulting but you have some pretty nice gear to be asking for eq'ing basics. I would say spend some time with your gear, turn knobs to their extremes and see what they do.

3. I can get a tone very similar to that with my sans amp RBI. For this type of vibe turn the blend knob up(temporarily) i set the gain higher than usual and basically dial in a dirtier tone then once i like it i roll the blend knob down to mix back in the dry sound of my bass. So basically its 2 different tones together, a dry and a fairly dirty tone.

4. Experiment with the RBI. Don't be afraid to set the eq and gain to more extreme settings. The blend will allow you to mix in your dry flat eq sound so it wont sound as over EQed as say an amp head that can only do one tone at a time.

5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Sounds like typical detuned metal distortion tones to me. Should be cake with all the stuff you have.

6. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Oct 18, 2012
    Texas