Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do I know that bass is right for me

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kalo, Apr 22, 2005.

1. kalo

kalo

Jul 29, 2003
    Hi all,

I want to thank EVERYONE for helping me. You are all so cool and this forum is great as well...Lot of awesome information!!!

However, I need some advise...Only this time it's not about what kind of bass should I get or theory....Let me explain:

I have been a guitarist for 6 years. I have a great teacher who has helped me become a good guitarist not a great one but good one....I practice all the time...

Recently, or should I say a year ago my teacher who is also a AWESOME bass player (totally respects the role and DOESN'T play bass like a guitar player) told me that I should start studying bass seriously as there is more demand for GOOD bass players...

Here is my problem I can physically play bass, but I don't know if I have the HEART of a bass player....Don't get me wrong I love bass and totally respect it's role in music....But I don't want to give up guitar playing either.

There are some days were I will say YEAH, I can totally dig being a bass player and then there are days where I am still a guitar player listening to Jimi Hendrix, and flamenco music, etc.

I did a lot of soul searching and I feel that the reason why I want to place bass is to be able to play in a band with others.

Here in AZ, there is more demand for GOOD bass players....But is that a good enough reason for me to play bass...

When I listen to music I hardley never say wow, that low end is awsome...I more attracted to what the guitar is doing...However, when I learn the bass lines on my bass I can dig that too....

Alot of friends and family know me a good guitarist not a bass player....