how do i play fast?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by eric234, May 5, 2005.

1. eric234

eric234 Guest

Mar 11, 2005
    hey i'm just learning bass and i've been playing for about a month and can do the two finger walk across the strings wih ease but i can't play fast like what's needed for funk so i was just wondering how you guys do it
  2. SCALES, SCALES, SCALES, and MORE SCALES. And when your finished with those,play a song, THEN MORE SCALES!!!! Your going to hate me for this. Everyone goes through the big "Scale Phase" I guarrentee you, you will hate it with a passion, but you have to be motivated. Don't stop playing them. I know their boring, and you'd rather jam, but you have to pound em out. Trust me when I say this 5 months later you'll be happy you did.
  3. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Master exercises at a SLOWER tempo first, and then gradually speed them up, over a period of days, weeks, whatever. I know you want to get finger speed, but don't be in a hurry to get there.

You have to play slow to play fast.
  4. eric234

eric234 Guest

Mar 11, 2005
    cool i'm already doing scales so i guess i've just got to do it for a few more months thanks for the advice guys
  5. Eric, I'd recomend playing a scale untill you cant feel your hands anymore. If you are trying to improve handstrengh. It might hurt, and you'll think you will never make it, but in the longrun it will help considerably.
  6. Bardolph

Jul 28, 2002
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Don't play to the point of pain, you could risk long-term damage. If it hurts, you're either doing it wrong or overworking yourself. What kind of funk are you talking about wanting to play?
  7. Eskimo, you know what I mean. I was exagerating. I meant play to your hand is really tired.
  8. metalguy2

Dec 26, 2004
    Another thing is... Just play.. Well I guess it helped me alot more considering my name on talkbass. But really though.. Just playing will get you speed up. Just that.. scales will help alot more.