1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do I use a power amp as a setup?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by amoorejr, Oct 22, 2013.

1. amoorejr

amoorejr

Jul 11, 2008
    I'm not a pro and I'm old school when it comes to live sound. I always been just simple plug and play in a bass amp. But I caught a deal on a power amp and I've seen some bass players use them before. So whats the usual way these things are set up? Definitely not plugging directly into the power amp right? Help me out

2. pgolliher

pgolliher

Apr 27, 2010
    Santa Cruz, CA
    You will need a preamp, even something as simple as a SansAmp bass driver DI first.

3. AdamR

AdamR

Sep 24, 2007
    Bethel CT
    you need a preamp

4. ArtechnikA

ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

Feb 24, 2013
    SEPA
    You will need a preamp.

To increase the signal level to what the power amp expects to be able to reach full output, to provide an EQ (usually...), and match impedance between the instrument and the amp.

Preamps can be found in pedal form, rackmount, lunchbox-sized, and other form factors, with prices ranging from inexpensive (as these things go) to no-upper-bound.

Search the forums for 'preamp' and you'll find lots of good information.

5. jnewmark

jnewmark Just wanna play the groove. Supporting Member

Aug 31, 2006
    Stax 1966
    Third St. Cigar Records staff musician.
    The normal way to do it is to get a preamp> you plug your bass into the preamp, then the preamp plugs into the power amp. It's not that simple, of course, but that's the bassic idea. There are many bass specific preamps out there, but it's not necessary to have one for it to work. Did you get a manual with the power amp ?

6. amoorejr

amoorejr

Jul 11, 2008
    Thanks guys. I just pulled a manual from the website

7. BurningSkies