1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do you define a "good job"?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MJ5150, Mar 12, 2009.

1. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    I got to thinking about this the other day as I watched several people telling a friend of mine "good job" on a public reading he had just finished. I thought it was terrible, but maybe I was being a snob about it. I have been speaking and reading publicly for over 25 years, so I consider public speaking something I am very good at.

So I thought to myself.....well, he did do a "good job" according to his usual standards, but not a "good job" according to mine.

When you decide to tell someone "good job", what do you base "good" on? How good you would have done, or how good they did compared to what you know they can do? I suppose each situation would be different too. I certainly would not hold a child to my same standards of "good" in many things, like public speaking for example.

-Mike

2. bluewine

bluewine Banned

Sep 4, 2008
    WI
    Well for perfoming art or commercial artist. I play Rock music which is a commercial art, it's anything that turns me on.

If I'm turned on by something someone creates, executes and delivers then it's a "Good Job". It all relative I guess.

blue

3. NJL

NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    i don't tell anyone they did a good job unless I believe it's a good job. period.

mike, quit being a baby, man up and just kick him in his nads and tell him how horrible he is.

:D