How do you find out about auditions?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by Benton, Mar 19, 2006.

1. I have been playing my Bass for years and would like to get paid for it. There are a few small orchestras near me Waterbury, New Haven, and Bridgeport (Connecticut) that I would like to give a shot. I just do not know when they are auditioning. I do not want to miss out on the auditions even if I don't get the gig.

I have played in community orchestras but it isn't really worth my time. I can't stand listening to people making the same mistakes week in and week out at rehearsals. I am a music teacher and have to listen to it at work. I went to some concerts and think I could cut it and play the music. It would be nice to play with real musicians and make the time away from the family worth it. I play electric with a band and play both upright and electric at a church but what I have really been practicing is the classical music, I think its time for me to get out of the woodshed.

So help, How do I know when auditions are being held?
    Is there a group to join, newletter, contact the orchestra, maybe the union?
  2. If they have a website, it's sometimes posted on it. You could also give them a call and asked to be contacted when a position for bass becomes available.
  3. InwoodFerri

Mar 12, 2006