Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do you finish your wenge necks?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by wilser, Jul 3, 2005.

1. Hello,
    Working on a wenge neck now (as some of you might have seen on the scarf joing pictorial). It's my first time making a wenge neck. Since it's so porous, my accustomed method will not work. It's also my first bolt-on (second really, but the first is a maple neck and it's being built more or less at the same time), so applying a finish that's different than the body's is not a problem.

What's the best option for protecting wenge necks? I'm looking for long term moisture protection here. Tung oil? tru-oil? wipe-on poly? fill-grain and lacquer? what-not?

Feedback is greatly appreciated.

2. ArtisFallen

ArtisFallen

Jul 21, 2004
    according to warmoth, wenge does not need to be finished, posibly because it's so resistant to the elements. i guess that means you can put any kind of finish you want on it.

I played an Ibanez soundgear with a wenge/ purpleheart neck, and i think they either oild it, or just left it unfinished because there wasn't any noticeable gloss like a poly or a laquer on it.

3. Basschair

Basschair .............. Staff Member Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca
    I'm planning on using tru-oil with mine (wenge/purpleheart). I've got a few scrap pieces I'll try first. I definitely be interested in hearing what route you go...

EDIT: I posted pics of my neck here, then thought that was in bad taste without asking. So, here's the link to my ongoing build for pics of the neck :D
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?p=2201761&posted=1#post2201761

4. Pete skjold

Pete skjold

May 29, 2004
    Warsaw Ohio