1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do you guys get guitarists to audition? Free pizza?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by NickInMesa, Apr 10, 2010.

1. Seriously, I get a few emails and calls and as soon as I send the song list, radio silence. No calls returned, no emails returned.

The songs are all from bands listed in our ad as what we want to cover so no surprise and it's really average, except for a couple, to see if anybody picks them up.

Here is the list and we only ask them pick 4:

Vertigo - U2
    The Middle - Jimmy Eat World
    Everything About You - Ugly Kid Joe
    Shimmer - Fuel
    Plush - STP
    Heavy - Collective Soul
    Hey Jealousy - Gin Blossoms

I actually wanted to add Metalingus but errr, we're not tight on this one :)

2. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Actually, free pizza might not be a bad idea.

It looks to me like you've picked some songs that require a little effort to learn; none of them are guitar-player "standards." Even the tunes without solos in 'em require a sit-down and practice session, because most rock guitarists aren't keen to learn Vertigo (no show-off parts) or figure which of Heavy's three guitar parts (requires them to sit down and actually listen to the song) they should play without someone pushing them.

I think that you've just found a very clever way to weed out guitarists that don't want to work ;) You should be proud. And still offer free pizza.

3. FunkMetalBass

FunkMetalBass

Aug 5, 2005
    Phoenix, Arizona 85029
    Endorsing Artist: J.C. Basses
    Nick, if I had a better guitar amp, I'd come try out for your band as a guitarist.