1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How do you guys write your basslines?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by r6mile, Mar 21, 2006.

1. I'm just a noob (well not a total noob, I've playing for a year, but you know... xD). I have a band and we're starting to write our own songs. We base our songs on chords, and to write the basslines, I always use the scales (basically because I don't know another way to do it xD). I mostly use the 1st note of the scale (of course), the 3rd, the 5th, the 8th, and sometimes the 4th. I also play the lower 5th, and sometimes I even play two notes at the same time, usually the 5th and the 8th. For the endings I usually play arpegios. How do you guys write your basslines?

2. flatwoundfender

flatwoundfender

Feb 24, 2005
    I don't really think about scales so much, only as brief blueprint as to what fits, mainly I play what I feel. Sometimes you'll find stuff that theory told you doesn't work works. I play it as I here it. I play something that makes the song groove.

3. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    I take it you are playing original music, otherwise, as a beginner, I think it's a great way to learn by copying the original bass player for the music your band is covering. If you are writing bass lines to original music, listen to other recording artists and study what they do. I usually start out with the root notes and build something out of that, unless a driving root note will do it. Then add driving the root note with making every other note an octave, then maybe use part of a scale to bridge yourself to the next chord in the song. There is no finite equation for this - I think you need to listen, listen, listen to somebody you really like and take from them what you like - add those components to your songs. You can take them now and understand what they are musically later, too.

Skel