Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do you know when you are ready to play with other people?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by H2ODog, Mar 11, 2004.

1. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    I started playing 3 months ago and eventually would like to play with other people. I would like to find other musicians that are about the same stage I’m in because I have read and been told that you can really progress a lot faster if you have an opportunity to play with others and I think it would be a lot of fun. My question is how do you now when you are ready to play with others and how do you go about finding other players that are at your level.

2. bassmantele

bassmantele

Jul 22, 2003
    Boston MA USA
    You are ready now. There's no reason why you couldn't play with others on your level. There are plenty of simple songs you could play and have fun with. And don't worry about making mistakes - everyone does. As to how to find people to play with - I can't help you there.

3. efcleff

efcleff

Jan 20, 2003
    ohio
    you could check out "open Mic" nights at local clubs. Usually it's musicians getting together and just jamming. Also, check out local music stores and classified adds for bands looking for a bass player...call them and tell them your level and see if they're interested.

4. Groove_Master

Groove_Master Guest

Feb 29, 2004
    Turkey
    just go and try with sum1. dont wait for being ready and try to find a band which has better musicians than you. not too much better :)
    you can learn many things from them.

5. Exactly what I was going to say. I know from experience how much you can pick up an progress from playing with better musicians.