1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How Do You Learn on an Unlined Fretless?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by tycobb73, Mar 16, 2010.

1. tycobb73

tycobb73

Jul 23, 2006
    Grand Rapids MI
    My ears are pretty good, but not that good. How do you do it? I'm looking at fretless basses but buying one without lines scares me as I've never done it before.

2. I know this is prolly what you would think you would hear... but I would just say really listen you should able to hear if your intune or not. And maybe just use the side markers as a reference point.

3. gre107

gre107

Dec 25, 2005
    PA
    Listen to what you are playing. Play along with open strings for a sanity check. Play along with CD's etc... to get the muscle memory and your ears in tune. Play without looking at the neck so you mentally know / feel where the notes are. Play in front of a mirror. As well play in the dark. Overall, just practice, pay attention to what you are doing and it will come quickly.

4. Intenzity

Intenzity

Oct 15, 2006
    Seattle, WA
    You already know the answer, you said it - with your ears.

Every single upright player/cellist/violist/violinist has had to do it from day 1.

It will sound like a sitar for a while ... but you will hear when you are in tune or not and figure it out. Lines are not always where the notes are anyway.

5. Stradavus

Stradavus

Oct 21, 2005
    Get some fingerboard tape. It's what's used in orchestras. I would probably mark the 3rd, 5th, 7th and 12th "frets."

Once you've got the locations down without looking, remove the tape. That's how I learned on the cello.

6. foderaman77

foderaman77

Oct 23, 2007
    Metro NYC