How do you learn songs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by keithconn, May 9, 2002.

1. Hey everyone -

Question: How do you learn songs? I am going to be playing with someone(guitarist) and need to learn a number of songs. This is my first time(except christmas) where I am learning songs. Mostly I have been taking lessons and going through bass lines, chords, scales etc. I have been trying two different methods and would like to know if anyone has any tricks etc. The music is standard pop-rock stuff.

First method: Like playing drums, I try to learn the beat, or count along. But I get lost pretty fast doing this, and have to try real hard to not listen to the 'music.'

Second method: Learn the 'song', or how the bass should sound and go on feel more than anything else. Problem with this is when the changes come up, etc ... But this seems to work better overall.

If you have a way of making this easier please let me know.

2. Okay, there are a number of factors, the main one is experience. How long have you been playing? If i want to learn a song I put on the record and try and play by ear, picking it up as i go along and repeating bits i dont get. Now, I used to use tab, and still do for stuff i just cant get (which isnt much im happy to say). Tab is good to begin with, but i wouldnt rely on it, as it is sometimes wrong.

What songs are you learning. If it's blink 182 or something such as where the bass parts are simple it's easy, and you should have no problem. If you are learning "tommy the cat" or something by primus or chillis i would get the tab and use it to help you through the songs.

I know this doesnt cover everything you asked, but my brain is tired.
  3. thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    If you're covering songs, the best way to do things at first is to learn the song note-for-note and then make changes if you like.