How do you like your Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by BassMan2000, Mar 3, 2004.

1. BassMan2000

Sep 27, 2000
    I've been playing Double Bass for 4 years now and own a fully carved bass. Through the years it's developed and seasoned and has recieved a good amount of wear and dings but I consider it character of the instrument...

Do you guys like keeping your instrument super nice and clean or like the old character type bass?

I've saw some nice geriatric old Double basses sound excessive and gigantic - beautiful sounding!

In my opinion I really love the look of an old seasoned Double bass to a new one. How about you?
  2. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    My first bass is a beater, and my Jazz bass is my baby. I always keep the MIA Jazz DLX looking great, but the Squire P has stickers all over it. It's got great electronics, and the neck is great. So it's al good.
  3. jmpiwonka

Jun 11, 2002

ummmm, i think you are lost buddy ;)
    but i could be wrong

i like seasoned basses over new ones, they just appeal to me more, that goes for double basses or electric basses.
  4. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Woops, this is the DB section. Anyways.... Where's my mommy, I'm lost.... Well, I can still hae an opinion about this I guess. I think I like DB's to be clean and pretty. If it's one of those 150 year old ones, the normal finish checking looks nice, and gives some character. I don't like to see dents and dings, though. Not my cup o' tea.
  5. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    In my first few years of lugging them around, I have found that DBs tend to get plenty of abuse because of the very nature of them. They're so huge, you just can't help banging them on stuff every once in a while. low doorways, stairs, tight stages and pits, you just can't help it.

Show me a bass with a perfect finish, and I'll show you a bass that hasn't been played very much. At least not outside the home.