Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How do you make your living?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Gman, Jan 16, 2000.

1. Gman

Gman

Jan 4, 2000
    Indianapolis, IN
    I was just wondering, it my be interesting to see what bass players do to make thier money. I dont know how many here, if any, rely on musical talents entirely. I suspect that we probably have a very diverse sampling of occupations.

Since I started it, I am first.

I am an electrician by trade.

I also expect to see lost of other tradesmen here.

Dave

2. Staci

Staci

Dec 11, 1999
    Registered Nurse here. Work part-time on a Cardiac unit.---Staci.

3. JimM

JimM

Jan 13, 2000
    Northern California
    Appliance Tech.
    ask me your washing machine/microwave/refrig questions off topic if you want,and if Paul will let you,but most nights I get home pretty late,so I may not get around to 'em for a while.

4. grussell

grussell

Dec 18, 1999
    I work for the City running the Local Law Enforcement Unit (for U.S. people that's not the Police - cops are a state responsibility in Australia)which is by laws/ordinances and stuff. Guess I'm a bureaucrat which is why I need to play bass - keeps me human - are bass players human?:-^

------------------
    Guy

5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I work as a Direct Marketing Consultant - but in the area of Information Management (we actually call it Knowledge Management now [​IMG]). I build network databases - at least it gives me free Internet access!

My "employer" is the Post Office - although as I say this is on consultancy basis. So you could say I'm like a Civil Servant.

6. I'm a poor french student in engineering.

7. Player

Player

Dec 27, 1999
    USA Cincinnati, OH