1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

how do you play behind the beat

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Dead Ed, May 12, 2011.

1. Dead Ed

Dead Ed

Nov 24, 2010
    Portland, OR
    Hey everyone. So I'm in this band, and there's a song we're doing where the drummer wants me to play with him behind the beat. I understand the concept, but the song is pretty fast (quarter note = about 200 so we're talking milliseconds here) and I can't seem to stay behind the beat. I looked around a bit, but can't find any great tips on technique. Does anyone know of some good ways to practice playing behind the beat? Thanks.

2. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

Nov 17, 2010
    I'm not sure that you really set out to learn this; you just sort of turn out that way (or not).

I started playing bass in '80 and in '92, I bought a double bass. Dropped R&R like a stone and ended up in a ten-year jazz phase. All of those horn and keyboard solos must have leaked into my brain, because I turned into a behind the beat bass player. Not to say that I can't keep on it if needed (and I did when actually playing jazz on double bass), but in an improvisational setting now on fretless electric (which I prefer), I find that, unless I concentrate, I drop behind the beat just a hair to fill in things after the drums, not always with the drums.